Round Up, Wind Down

Hi guys,

I haven’t really kept up with this. Truth is, short of listing all the food I’ve eaten then not much has happened.

It’s been a pretty standard week. Not exceeding 5 Syns per day… maybe.

Saturday morning, I had a right hankering for some bacon. But I can’t have bread (that’s worth eating) so I decided to give a Syn-free fry-up a go. And, to my surprise, it was very good!
Bacon medallions, grilled tomato, beans, scrambled eggs, fried eggs (which might look like crap to you, but I can’t stand any runny stuff, so I well over-do them, sunny-side-down) and fried onions. All done with 1-cal spray. It kept me full until later on when things got a bit out of control. Syns: 0

fryup

Saturday evening was my best friend’s birthday meal and he picked Sunday’s in Peterborough, which is a cafe/restaurant that sells Sunday dinners during the day and BBQ at night.
I knew that this place would test my steely resolve. But, under the circumstances, I think I did pretty good.

While every one was tucking in to mixed platters of meat, meat, a bit of meat and then some more meat, I went for the brisket with corn on’t cob (plain) and fries. I can only guess what the Syns were in here, so I won’t. But I think it was the least Synalicious thing on the menu.
I called up beforehand and they were very considerate. The chap on the phone explained that it’s a dry rub coating as opposed to a wet marinade and that the fat should be visible if I wanted to cut it off. I decided to give it a go and I’m so glad that I did. It was fan-bloody-tastic!

The fries were a bit of a faux pas, I get that. But the corn on the cob was the healthiest looking side. I also ate someone’s green beans to restore balance to the universe.

sundays
I’ve become one of those people. The food photographers.

Afterwards we went to some hipster bar, where they serve you three quarters of a pint of nonsense, like ‘Mermaid’s Earlobe’ in a chalice and charge you double for the privilege. Then you stand around a barrel musing over current affairs. It wasn’t my kinda place.
I asked the barman for a non-alcoholic diet drink, to which he replied that they didn’t have any. But they did have low sugar drinks like apple and bergamot (seriously?)

I settled for a lemonade.

We went elsewhere soon after where I went for a more traditional Pepsi Max before heading home.

lemonade
I went for normal. I wasn’t in the mood for Whale Tears & Organic Virgin Earwax flavour.

Sunday was back to normality. Scrambled eggs with pistachios for lunch (skipped breakfast) to cover HEX B and then my wife made Cajun chicken with chips and homemade coleslaw. The coleslaw had mayonnaise in it. Five Syns for the entire batch, so I’m putting my fractional amount down as one Syn.

So, for a summary and so I can keep tabs of what I eat:

Monday 30th Jan:

Spaghetti Bolognese
An apple
Clementines x 3
Homemade burgers (no bread) with chips and salad… but I did have rubber cheese on the burgers
Syns: 5

Tuesday:

Chicken fajita in an omelette instead of wrap
Two apples
A banana
Beans on Toast for HEX A
Muller Light with banana
Syns: 0

Wednesday:

Pasta with mayonnaise, turkey and salad
Muesli in Muller yogurt for HEX A
A banana
Chili con carne with rice
Syns: 5

Thursday:

Chili left-overs for lunch
Apple
Plums
Baked potato with cheese (HEX B) and beans (no butter)
Syns: 0

Friday:

Muesli in Muller yogurt for HEX A
Turkey salad
Tilda Egg-fried rice
Apple
Clementines
Banana
Syn free sausage casserole
Syns: 3.5 (for the rice)

Saturday:

Syn-free fry-up
The brisket meal
That pretentious lemonade
Syns: God only knows.

Sunday:

Scramby eggs with pistachio for HEX A
Cajun chicken with chips and homemade coleslaw
Apple
Banana
Syns: 1

And that’s a wrap… or a three egg omelette for a Syn-free alternative

Big love,

StW

2 thoughts on “Round Up, Wind Down

Leave a comment